Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
Background image of chalk board

Teachers of the Year

Commonwealth Bank & Trust logo

Recently, thirteen exceptional educators gathered to be recognized by a grateful district. Each Shelby County school has gone through the process of selecting their Teacher of the Year. These selections were honored collectively at a banquet sponsored by Commonwealth Bank & Trust and Insurance Associates.

The banquet, held at the SCPS Blair Center, saw each honoree recognized with a trophy, a tribute video, and much appreciation from a district that takes great pride in the hard work of its teachers. "This group represents the excellence spread all across our District," said Superintendent James Neihof. "We're thankful for the dedication they show to our students every day." 

Shelby County Public Schools is also grateful to the sponsors who made the event possible. "Our partnership with Commonwealth Bank & Trust and Insurance Associates in this effort symbolizes a community that cares about our schools," Neihof continued.

The event also unveiled the District-level winner who will go on to compete for the Kentucky Teacher of the Year. Julia Lyles, from Heritage Elementary, was the selection.

Congratulations to each winner!

Clear Creek Elementary - Danielle Rizzo

Heritage Elementary & District Winner - Julia Lyles

Painted Stone - Rosalie Rogers

Simpsonville Elementary - Erika Darin

Southside Elementary - Tiffany Roberts

Wright Elementary - Renee Clark

East Middle - James Wampler

West Middle - David Peirce

SC Area Technology Center - LaShonda Hardin

Big Picture Learning Academy - Catherine Underwood

Martha Layne Collins High - Leslie Hulsey

Shelby County High - Tyler Harris


2016-2017 teachers of the year


Back to School News     Print News Article