Return to Headlines

Middle School Future City Teams Win BIG!

Future City is a STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, & Math) competition, where middle school students have to imagine a city at least 100 years in the future around a theme.  This year's theme was a waste-free city using a circular economy.
Students must complete 5 deliverables:
Project Plan
A 1,500-word City Essay
Design a City Model
Film and edit their City Presentations (this in the
And complete a question-and-answer session about their city.
Students work in teams of 3 to 8 students.  Students must have at least 3 students for the competition.  They work on the different components from September until January.  They have due dates for each of the deliverables starting with the City Essay in December.
Shelby County had four teams compete in this year's competition. 
At West Middle School we had a 6th-grade team, city named Chicago 2122.  Students on that team include:
Mason Plottner
Claire Taylor
Elijah Grider
Alicia Richardson
Lorraine Lewis
Ryder Kooyman
Hatcher Smothermon
Noah Boerner
The second team at West Middle School was a 7th-grade team from Victory. Their city name was Rhôneside City.  This team won the Society of American Military Engineers Public Service Award.
The Public Service Award: Awarded to the team that demonstrates exemplary performance in recognizing and promoting the role public service plays in the economic and environmental needs of the nation.
Students on this team include:
Rachel Holiway
Rocky Clary
Tyler Fisher
East Middle School had two teams as well.  We had a 6th/8th team, city name New York City 2121.  They won the Coalition for a Healthy Oldham County Award (The Future City competition is held at Oldham County High School when in person). 
The award is presented to the team that best expresses originality, creativity, feasibility, and evidence-based practices to reduce the burden of substance abuse in their community.
Students on this team include:
Brianna Breckenridge
Briley Staples
Asher Montgomery
Ivan Penix
Elliott Underwood
Ian Johnson
Rhys Davis
Caleb Kampschaefer 
East Middle School's second team was 7th-grade team. Their city name was Retopia. They won the Society of American Military Engineers Mission Award:
The Misson Award is awarded to the team that demonstrates exemplary performance in providing support to engineering components in the interest of national safety and security. 
Students on this team include:
Lily Carr
Blane Torzewski
Matthew Coursey
Elijah Ballard
Cody Young
Julienne Tipton
Maggie McDowell
Celia Hardin