Return to Headlines

Artavia Acklin Named WMS Principal

(Shelbyville, KY) 

On Tuesday morning, May 16, 2023, the West Middle School staff was called to the library for a meeting. There, Dr. Sally Sugg announced that Ms. Artavia Acklin was named the next principal of West Middle School. The staff applauded, whistled, and was genuinely excited and emotional. 


“It’s a bittersweet day! I just told my staff at Painted Stone the news and I’m sad to leave them but excited to start this new journey with you, “ said Ms. Acklin to the WMS staff. 


She continued to tell them that former WMS Principal Kim Rice is a mentor who encouraged her to apply for this position. Artavia was a West Middle Warrior herself and grew up in Shelbyville.


“I want to continue the good things you have started at West Middle and I have a few ideas that I feel will improve West Middle.” 


Ms. Artavia Acklin began her teaching career in 1996 at Southside Elementary where she taught a third and fourth-grade combination class and eventually served as a literacy coach and an instructional coach. She taught at Clear Creek Elementary as a primary and third-grade teacher.


In 2012 Ms. Acklin became the Assistant Principal at Simpsonville Elementary and in 2015 was named the Principal at Painted Stone. Painted Stone students attend West Middle School and Ms. Acklin feels this is a positive move for her and the students at PSE and WMS at this juncture in her career. 


With Ms. Acklin’s leadership, Painted Stone Elementary is known for its positive learning environment and school culture. Teachers and staff are excited to begin a new chapter with Ms. Acklin at the helm. 


She is a passionate educator who, in her own words, “strives to lead a school that prides itself on challenging students to achieve academic excellence in an emotionally and physically safe learning environment.”


Ms. Acklin has received many awards throughout her educational career including the Ashland Teacher Achievement Award (2009), the Shelby County and ExCel Teacher of the Year Award (2008-2009), the Kentucky Reading Project Appreciation Award (2007), Louisville Writing Project Leadership Award (2004), and the Kentucky Reading Project Leadership Award (2004). 

Ms. Acklin announced as next principal of WMS

Ms. Jackson and Dr. Sugg were at WMS to announce the new principal!